The May South Swell Board Test

16 May 2017 4 Share

COASTALWATCH | BOARD TEST

Boards provided by Onboard Store 
Leggies: Premium One XT 6ft Ocean & Earth
Fins: Mick Fanning FCS II Medium
Video Track: Antiquiated by Regular Boys
Photos by Mark Onorati 

Autumn groundswells provide the perfect conditions for surfers on the east coast, and what better conditions to test out new boards. We teamed up with Onboard Store in Sydney to bring you three of their best models at the moment and see what the crew of very unique surfers in the office had to say about them. Check out their reviews and the gallery below.

BOARD #1: CHANNEL ISLANDS TWIN

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD 5'9 / 30.7L 

NICK GREGORY

RATING: 7/10

It felt short, fast, fun. I liked the how easy it was to generate speed. Held rail quite well and responsive for a retro tin design. The board I tested was a bit too much foam for me and the waves I tested the board in weren’t ideal for a board of this nature.

HUGH WYLLIE

RATING: 8/10

A surprising amount of hold off the bottom with the usual release off the top. Perfect for highlining a nice long pointbreak and some cheeky wraps on the open face.

There was plenty of volume under the chest for easy paddling and sliding in early. Great down the line speed, especially on the high line.

There was a bit too much squirt to go completely top to bottom. This board surf’s a little flatter than your standard shorty but that’s to be expected.   

CORBIN NASH

RATING: 7/10

When I first got on the Twinny I was having a lot of fun as it’s something totally different to my usual board. It was quick and was holding the rail, but after a while it was sliding out from under me, especially when stalling.

BOARD #2: CHANNEL ISLANDS FEVER

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD:
Board 1 was 5'11 / 27.9L
Board 2 was 6'1 / 31.5L 

DOUG LEES (board 2)

RATING: 5/10 

The volume of the board felt too thick and the tail had too much area for me in these conditions. It wasn't really as responsive as I would have liked. I think it was 32L where I would be 30 or 31L.

BEN MACARTNEY (board 1)

RATING: 7.8469/10

It felt like a good all round short board; very fast, easy to turn. It felt like it had higher than usual volume meant it was easy to catch waves. 

VAUGHAN BLAKEY (board 2)

RATING: 5/10

The board I rode felt like it had far too much volume for me. It surfed like a big board which is weird because my first custom when I was 14 was actually bigger.I haven’t ridden a standard thruster for a long time and I’d like to try a version of this design with less foam in it. It actually felt like it had potential but I struggled on this particular version of it.

CORBIN NASH (board 1)

RATING: 7.5/10

I found it really easy to generate speed from the Fever, but it was a bit resistant on top turns for me. This particular board was a bit larger than I’d usually ride and too pinny. If I were riding correct dimensions, it board would be fire. 

BOARD #3: CAMPBELL BROS. X CHANNEL ISLANDS BONZER SHELTER

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD: 6'0 / 29.9

DOUG LEES

RATING: 8.5/1

This was a board that I really enjoyed riding. It had great speed down the line, and more responsive than I had imagined. The board held and actually increased speed through runs and especially cutbacks, but this speed also made me struggle to break the turn. The one thing I found that I'd have to accommodate more for was that in the cutback the board kept speed in the turn and I had could not bring the board around. (probably more a reflection of my skill than the board.)

VAUGHAN BLAKEY

RATING: 7.5/10

Given that we were surfing hollow closeouts and the board felt really great either high lining off a takeoff, coming off the bottom or holding line in the barrel.

Because I mostly ride such short (between 5’3 and 5’8), thick, flat boards, often twins, the knifeyness of less volume and a more narrow outline was a fresh feeling I enjoyed. The Bonzer didn’t feel anywhere near as flowy through turns but that was to be expected. Seems to me like down the line, clean faced, steep surf would be ideal for this board.  

Once you set rail and begin to turn, considering how you’re gonna ride out of that turn becomes pretty important because it would grab through the back half of a turn if you pushed too hard and you’d lose speed. But that’s based on the only two waves I managed to turn on.

Hugh on the Twin

Hugh on the Twin

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Doug on the Bonzer

Doug on the Bonzer

Ben on the Fever

Ben on the Fever

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Vaughan on the Fever

Vaughan on the Fever

Hugh on the Fever

Hugh on the Fever

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Nick Gregory the barrel hunter

Nick Gregory the barrel hunter

Tags: video , (create Alert from these tags)

blog comments powered by Disqus
More From Reviews
Tested: Flashbomb Heat Seeker 3/2mm Zip Free Steamer

Tested: Flashbomb Heat Seeker 3/2mm Zip Free Steamer

The Maserati of wetsuits

4 1 Jul 2019
A Wear and Tear Follow-Up Review of the O'Neill PSYCHOFREAK Zen Zip 3/2

A Wear and Tear Follow-Up Review of the O'Neill PSYCHOFREAK Zen Zip 3/2

How Did This Wetsuit Hold Up Ten Months Down The Track?

7 13 Mar 2019
Two New Surf Books, Richo and Lennox, Different Worlds – Nick Carroll

Two New Surf Books, Richo and Lennox, Different Worlds – Nick Carroll

Richo! The Terry Richardson Story and Surfing Lennox, From Then To Now

1 Oct 2018
Recent

Breaking: John John Florence Is Out For J-Bay, Likely the Rest of the Year

Ugh, goodbye World Title? Goodbye Olympics?

2 Jul 2019
Surfers Announced for the Bells Beach 50 Year Storm Invitational in Memory of Shaun Brooks

Surfers Announced for the Bells Beach 50 Year Storm Invitational in Memory of Shaun Brooks

1 12 Jun 2019
WSL Launches Stop Trashing Waves Campaign, Joins Global Climate Movement

WSL Launches Stop Trashing Waves Campaign, Joins Global Climate Movement

3 5 Jun 2019
Nathan Fletcher's New Film, Heavy Water, Looks Epic and It's Coming to Aus This Week

Nathan Fletcher's New Film, Heavy Water, Looks Epic and It's Coming to Aus This Week

2 5 Jun 2019
The Last Two Days On The North Coast Have Been Epic

The Last Two Days On The North Coast Have Been Epic

1 5 Jun 2019
Latest News

Nathan Fletcher's New Film, Heavy Water, Looks Epic and It's Coming to Aus This Week

With five special QnA screenings with Nathan and Hollywood director Michael Oblowitz from this Sunday

The Last Two Days On The North Coast Have Been Epic

Some of the best beach break waves in recent memory.

Popular This Week

Wave Pools Are For Snow Skiers Now? Frankie Oberholzer is the OG Search Legend, and J-Bay Gets Going

This Week In Surfing: Ten Things From Surfing & the Internet on the Week That Was July 12, 2019

Mick & Xavier Venture To The Other Side

Mick Fanning & Xavier Huxtable joined Nathan Hedge, Isabella Nichols, Mitch Parkinson, Clancy Dawson, Korbin 'The Search' Hutchings and crew for an epic little morning over on the other side.

Weekend Surf Forecast 12 to 14 July 2019

There's mid-winter joy inbound this weekend.

Sean Doherty: Style Becomes Him

2019 Corona Open J-Bay, Day 3/Round 3

Sean Doherty: J-Bay in a Post John John World

2019 Corona Open J-Bay, Day 1/Seeding Round

Go to Top